Anzac Memorial - Gallery 06

Anzac Memorial Centenary Project wins 2019 Kevin Cavanagh Trophy

Since its establishment in 1971, the Awards for Excellence in Concrete have played a crucial role in celebrating and highlighting the remarkable achievements in concrete design, construction, and materials throughout Australia.

The Concrete Institute of Australia received an impressive number of 59 entries from across the nation in 2019, spanning across various categories. These entries showcased the exceptional talent and innovation present within the Australian concrete industry.

The Kevin Cavanagh Trophy

The Kevin Cavanagh Trophy for Excellence in Concrete stands as a highly esteemed accolade within the industry. It recognises the pinnacle of achievement in concrete construction across all categories, honoring the exceptional contributions that enhance the quality of projects throughout Australia. The recipient of this distinguished award is chosen for their remarkable demonstration of excellence, surpassing all other entries in terms of innovation and craftsmanship.

In 2019, the Anzac Memorial Centenary Project, a collaborative effort by Taylor Thomson Whitting, Johnson Pilton Walker, Precast Concrete Products, and Built, claimed the coveted Kevin Cavanagh Trophy. Hailing from New South Wales and competing in the esteemed Commercial Buildings category, this project showcased unparalleled excellence, solidifying its place as the epitome of concrete construction at its finest.

Anzac Memorial - Gallery 04

Situated at the southern edge of Sydney’s Hyde Park, the Anzac War Memorial stands as an iconic architectural marvel. Originally completed in 1934, this magnificent concrete structure, adorned with exquisite stone cladding, was envisioned and designed by the talented Charles Bruce Dellit.

In commemoration of the NSW Centenary of Anzac, a revitalization project was undertaken, aiming to construct modern education and interpretation facilities that would fulfill the original 1930s vision for the Memorial. One of the notable additions is a captivating water cascade, which serves as a stunning tribute to the past. Through this redevelopment, the Memorial has been transformed into a focal point where future generations can explore and gain insights into Australia’s war history and the enduring Anzac legacy.

The newly created underground facilities boast immersive education and exhibition areas, thoughtfully arranged around a central chamber known as the “Hall of Service.” This chamber is intricately connected to the Memorial through an expansive open oculus, allowing for a seamless visual link. To facilitate easy access, a striking staircase flanked by inclined lifts gracefully connects the underground spaces with the existing ground floor.

Within the Hall of Service, an awe-inspiring architectural feat takes center stage—the column-free expanse. This remarkable structure features dramatic precast cantilevers that reach towards the central oculus, creating a breathtaking space that remains unencumbered by columns. This design element adds to the grandeur of the Memorial, offering visitors an unforgettable experience that seamlessly blends past and present.

National Awards for Excellence in Concrete – 2019 Winners

Winners of Awards for Excellence from each state were judged in their separate categories for an overall category winner. The winner received a Medallion for Excellence in Concrete and an accompanying certificate. From those entries receiving a Medallion for Excellence in Concrete, one was judged to receive the Kevin Cavanagh Trophy for Excellence in Concrete and an accompanying certificate. National awards were presented at the Institute’s 2019 Conference Dinner on 10 September 2019 which was proudly sponsored by Cement Australia.

Residential Buildings – Mosman House submitted by Partridge Structural

Commercial Buildings – Anzac Memorial Centenary Project submitted by Taylor Thomson Whitting, Johnson Pilton Walker, Precast Concrete Products, and Built

Infrastructure Projects – Mandurah Bridge Replacement Project submitted by Main Roads WA, BG&E, City of Mandurah and Georgiou Group

Repair & Rehabilitation – Brooklyn Trunk Sewer BTS001 submitted by Eywad

Technology & Innovation – LaTrobe Street Student Accommodation submitted by Hickory Construction Group

State Awards for Excellence in Concrete

All entries were judged in groups based on the state in which they are completed, and winners were awarded with an Award for Excellence in Concrete. Winners received a framed Award certificate. More than one award was able to be granted in each category. These awards were presented at Institute Branch Awards functions held in July 2019.

The entries that progressed to the National Awards were:

Residential Buildings

Castle Cove House – Olding Constructions, TERROIR, Simpson Design Associates, and G&D Concrete (New South Wales)
Extruded House – MCK Architects and Toki Construction (New South Wales)
Mosman House – Partridge Structural (New South Wales)
St. Georges Road House – Perrett Simpson, Raid Studio, and Arnet & Browning (Victoria)
Roscommon House – Neil Cownie Architect (Western Australia)

Commercial Buildings

Anzac Memorial Centenary Project – Taylor Thomson Whitting, Johnson Pilton Walker, Precast Concrete Products, and Built (New South Wales)
Lucent – DBCorp, Cavcorp and Torre Developments (Queensland)
Waltzing Matilda Centre – A.Gabrielli Construction Pty Ltd, Jolliffe Concreting, Bligh Tanner, and Cox Architecture
University of South Australia’s Cancer Research Institute – Wallbridge Gilbert Aztec (WGA), Swanbury Penglase / BVN, Hansen Yuncken, and University of South Australia (South Australia)
Perth Children’s Hospital – Aurecon (Western Australia)
DFO Perth – Georgious Group (Western Australia)

Infrastructure Projects

Bridge over Clarence River at Harwood – Acciona Ferrovial Joint Venture (New South Wales)
Bringelly Road Bridge – Lendlease Engineering (New South Wales)
Sydney Metro Nothwest Surface and Viaduct (SVC) Contract – Salini Impregilo S.p.A (New South Wales)
The Tramway shared path and seawall project – Wollongong City Council (New South Wales)
Ellenbrook Water Tank – BG&E, Water Corporation, and Georgiou Group (Western Australia)
Mandurah Bridge Replacement Project – Main Roads WA, BG&E, City of Mandurah, and Georgiou Group (Western Australia)
South Metropolitan TAFE (Murdoch T Block building) – Airey Taylor Consulting, Armstrong Parkin Architects, Delta Corporation, EMCO Builders (Western Australia)

Repairs & Rehabilitation

Barwon Water Head Office Redevelopment – GHD (Victoria)
Brooklyn Trunk Sewer BTS001 Rehabilitation – Eywad (Victoria)

Technology & Innovation

Bridge over the Richmond River at Broadwater – Lendlease Engineering (New South Wales)
Guide to Historical Steel Reinforcement in Australia – Steel Reinforcement Institute of Australia (New South Wales)
VDC Precast Concrete – Richmond River Bridge – Australian Precast Solutions and Lendlease Engineering (New South Wales)
WestConnex 1B C&C Tunnel Hydrocarbon Fire Design – Arcadis (New South Wales)
Arrowhead Artificial Reef – Pacific Marine Group, Glynn Tucker Consulting Engineers, and HME Consulting Engineers (Queensland)
Quickcell Wide Flange Super I-Girder – Quickcell Technology Products (Queensland)
Innovative Very-High Strength Concrete (up to150 MPa) for Super Tall Buildings: Pushing the Boundaries – LafargeHolcim, Pronto Concrete, and The University of Melbourne (Victoria)
LaTrobe Street Student Accommodation – Hickory Construction Group Pty Ltd (Victoria)
State of the art design and manufacture of segmental tunnel linings – Salini Impregilo – NRW JV and Boral (Western Australia)

View Original Article.